Psychiatry Experts

Wan Habsah Bt Wan Ali

Department of Psychological Medicine
University of Malaya


The Department of Psychological Medicine was established in 1965, soon after the founding of the Faculty of Medicine, University of Malaya in 1964. The department was then headed by Professor N.N. Wagner from the United States of America, a clinical psychologist. Professor Tan Eng Seong was the first Malaysian psychiatrist to head the department. In 1976, Associate Professor Teoh Jin Inn became the head of the department followed by Assosiate Professor Woon Tai Hwang in 1977, Associate Professor M. Subramaniam in 1991, Professor M. P. Deva in 1992, Professor Mohamad Hussain Habil in 1998 and Professor Nor Zuraida Zainal in 2010. The postgraduate training in Psychological Medicine was launched in 1973 to address the shortage of psychiatrist in Malaysia. It was initially started as a two-year MPM (Masters in Psychological Medicine).

Research Interest

Psychology Medicine

Global Experts from Malaysia

Global Experts in Subject

Share This Profile
Recommended Conferences